The Caltech Playreaders

2021-2022: The 71th Season

All of our readings will be held at 7:30 pm

Tuesday, November 9, 2021
The Lying Valet/The Male Coquette
Tuesday, January 11, 2022
37 Postcards
Tuesday, February 8, 2022
The Ladies of the Camellias
Tuesday, March 8, 2022
A Woman of No Importance
Tuesday, April 12, 2022
Enchanted April
Tuesday, May 17, 2022
The Real Inspector Hound

A donation of $4 is requested at the door (only $3 for members of the Caltech Women's Club).

This season we are going to play things by ear due to the ongoing COVID-19 situtation. The exact format of each performance will be determined as the situation evolves, however we hope to offer in-person performances this season. The plays performed on each date and their exact format are subject to change, please check back here for more information as each performance date approaches.

As of Monday, October 18, the Institute (Caltech) will limit access to all indoor campus spaces to individuals with proof of full vaccination or an approved exemption. This means that all individuals, including visitors, who are eligible to receive the vaccine (i.e., everyone 12 years old or older and those without an approved exemption) must be prepared to show proof of vaccination when entering any indoor campus space. This requirement will be in effect at auditoriums and lecture halls used for public events and engagements. The process to verify proof of vaccination or approved exemption for indoor access may vary by location, but will be clearly communicated at entrances and on the Caltech Together website.

If you plan to dine at the Athenaeum before the reading, your party should be seated by 5:30 pm. You may order before everyone in your party has arrived. You are welcome to join the Playreaders' table. Please consult with the Athenaeum website for reservations and the latest information regarding Athenaeum dining and COVID restrictions.

Readings usually run about two hours. Please plan to linger for discussion and refreshments.

The Caltech Women's Club and the Athenaeum sponsor the Playreaders. Please see this page for Caltech Women's Club events. All Caltech/JPL community members are welcome to participate. To be added to the Playreaders emailing list or change your information, contact Arden Thomas (arden.e.thomas at

Join us on facebook:

Previous Seasons

Playreaders Officers:

Chair: Joanne Doyle
Play Selection Chair: Ashley Stoupe
Play Selection Committee: Todd Brun, Greta Davidson, John Davidson, Joanne Doyle, Barbie Insua, Cara King, Ann Lindsey, Lynne McGrath, Douglas Smith, Diana St. James, Anne Vaughan
Casting: Ashley Stoupe and Rob Stirbl
Membership and e-mail: Arden Thomas, Carol Elaine Cyr
Treasurer: Todd Brun
Publicity Committee: Carol Elaine Cyr, Greta Davidson, John Davidson, Joanne Doyle, Michele Judd, Barbie Insua, Lynne McGrath, Elena Scire
Monthly Playbill: Ann Motrunich
Athenaeum and CWC Liaison: Ann Lindsey and Joanne Doyle
Rights coordinator: Todd Brun
Hospitality: Anne Vaughan