Bi190 Spring 2015

Monday and Wednesday  1100-1155

101 Kerckoff Building   

Professor Paul Sternberg                

Date
Lecturer
#
Topic
Mar 30 Mon
PWS 1 Introduction: Genes, Genomes & Populations
Apr 1 Wed
PWS 2
Inheritance [ch.3]
Apr 6 Mon PWS 3
Gene Function: loss of function
Apr 8 Wed PWS 4
Gene Function: gain of function [ch.4A]
Apr 13 Mon PWS 5
Gene Function: complementation [ch.4B]
Apr 15 Wed PWS 6
Gene Function: site of action [ch.4C]
Apr 20 Mon PWS
7
Pathways
Apr 22 Wed PWS 8 Pathways [ch.5] 
Apr 27 Mon PWS 9 Screens [ch 6]
Apr 29 Wed PWS 10
yeast mating type: gospel according to Ira
May 4 Mon PWS 11
Acquiring Genomes [ch 7]
May 6 Wed PWS 12
Annotating Genomes [ch 9]
May 11 Mon PWS 13
Gene Expression  [ch 10]
May 13 Wed JL & PYS
14
Gene Regulation [ ch 11]
May 18 Mon PWS 15
Genome-wide loss-of-function and interaction [ch12]
May 20 Wed David Prober 16
Chemical Screens
May 25 Mon PWS
Memorial Day Holiday
May 27 Wed PWS
17 Data Integration [ch12]
Jun 1 Mon PWS 18
Evolution [ch 13]
Jun 3 Mon PWS 19
Natural Variation & GWAS [ch14]  [Reading]
PWS, Paul W. Sternberg;                                                GRADING POLICY
Office hours: Friday 1100-1200, 214 Kerckhoff Building
TAs    Pei Yin Shih, (209 Kerckhoff);  James Lee (224 Kerckhoff)
Review Sessions: TBA
Problem sets due April April , May , May , June